Texas International Produce Association To Induct Five Industry Icons To The Texas Produce Hall Of Fame

by | Jan 8, 2024


The Texas International Produce Association (TIPA) proudly announces the induction of five distinguished individuals into the Texas Produce Hall of Fame. This prestigious event recognizes outstanding leaders who have significantly contributed to the betterment of the produce industry in Texas and is scheduled to take place on January 29, 2024 at the Mission Events Center in Mission, Texas.

Meet The 2024 Texas Produce Hall of Fame Inductees

James V. Bassetti, Little Bear Produce

Headshot of Jimmy Bassett, Little Bear Produce

Renowned for his decades-long dedication to excellence and innovation in the produce industry, James V. Bassetti of Little Bear Produce is a well-respected figure whose contributions have left a lasting impact.

Bernie Thiel, Sunburst Farms

Headshot of Bernie Thiel, Sunburst Farms

Bernie Thiel of Sunburst Farms is recognized for his outstanding contributions to the produce community. His commitment to sustainable farming practices and community engagement has made him a respected and influential figure.

Bruce Frasier, Dixondale Farms

Headshot of Bruce Frasier, Dixondale Farms

Bruce Frasier of Dixondale Farms is honored for his tireless efforts in advancing the onion industry. His leadership and commitment to positive change have made a significant mark on the agricultural landscape.

Frank Schuster, Val Verde Vegetable Co., Inc

Headshot of Frank Schuster, Val Verde Vegetable Co., Inc

A leader in quality and a driving force behind the success of Val Verde Vegetable Co., Inc., Frank Schuster’s commitment to excellence has set a benchmark for others in the industry.

Danny Arnold, AW Produce (Posthumous)

Headshot of Danny Arnold, AW Produce

In remembrance of his contributions to the industry, Danny Arnold of AW Produce will be honored posthumously.

Additionally, Jim Henderson of Jim Henderson Co. will be receiving the Scott Toothaker Award for his dedication and service as a partner to the industry. The Scott Toothaker Award, established in 1989, honors individuals not directly involved in production agriculture who have made immense contributions nonetheless.

The Hall of Fame induction ceremony on January 29 promises to be an evening of celebration, honoring the achievements and legacies of these exceptional individuals. Considered one of TIPA’s most treasured events, the Hall of Fame is held every other year by the Texas International Produce Association for the last 36 years. This banquet provides the opportunity for today’s industry members to pay tribute to the leaders and role models who paved the way for future generations in the produce industry. In addition, the banquet also serves as a fundraiser for the William E. Weeks Agricultural Scholarship; established to encourage future generations to carry on the hard work of our past leaders and pursue education in the field of specialty crop agriculture.

If you are interested in more information regarding the Texas Produce Hall of Fame, please contact the Texas International Produce Association office at 956-581-8632.

About the Texas International Produce Association 

Texas International Produce Association logo

The Texas International Produce Association (TIPA) was founded in 1942 and represents nearly 400 member companies as they educate, advocate, promote and represent on behalf of the fresh produce industry of more than $12 billion dollars that is either produced in Texas or considers Texas its first point of arrival for domestic distribution. For information, please visit www.texipa.org.